CBSE Class 10 Social Science History Nationalism in India Notes  

1. Vernacular Press Act : The Act through which the British government got extensive rights to censor reports and editorials in the vernacular languages.

2. Boycott : The refusal to deal and associate with people, or participate in activities, or buy and use things ; usually a form of protest.

3. Inland Emigration Act : It was an Act through which plantation workers were not permitted to leave the tea gardens without permission,

4. Satyagraha : A non-violent method used by Gandhiji against the oppressor.

5. Khilafat Movement : It was a movement organised by the famous Ali brothers, Mohammed Ali and Shaukat Ali to protest against the injustice done to Turkey after the war

6. Non-Cooperation Movement: This movement was launched by Gandhiji in 1920. Its aims were to redress the wrong done to Punjab and Turkey and die attainment of Swaraj.

7. Gandhi-Irwin Pact : It was an agreement signed in March 1931 under which the Civil Disobedience Movement was called off.

8. Dandi March : Gandhiji, along with 78 of his followers, started from his Ashram at Sabarmati to Dandi on the sea coast on foot, and broke the salt law by making salt.

9. Poona Pact : It was a pact which was signed  between Gandhiji and Dr. B.R. Ambedkar. The Pact gave the depressed classes reserved seats in provincial and central legislative councils.