CBSE Class 10 Social Sciences Civics Power Sharing Notes

♦ Ethnic : A social division based on shared culture. People belonging to the same ethnic group believe in their common descent because of similarities of physical type or of culture, or both. They need not always have the same religion or nationality. ‘

♦ Majoritarianism : A belief that the majority community should be able to rule a country in whichever way it wants, by disregarding the wishes and needs of the minority.

♦ Civil war : A violent conflict between the opposing groups within a country that becomes so intense that it appears like a war.

♦ Prudential : Based on prudence, or on careful calculation of gains and losses. Prudential decisions are usually contrasted with those decisions which are based purely on moral considerations.

♦ Community Government : A community government is one in which different social groups are given the power to handle the affairs related to their communities. They are expected to work jointly for the benefit of the common masses without undermining any one community.

♦ Federal government : It is a government under which two or more than two sets of governments govern the country.

♦ Reserved constituency : A reserved constituency is a constituency which is reserved for a particular section of the society.

♦ Coalition government : A coalition government is a cabinet of parliamentary government in which several parties cooperate. It generally happens when no party gets a majority in the parliament and several parties join together to prove their majority.

NCERT SolutionsMathsScienceSocialEnglishHindiSanskritRD Sharma